Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees (Kuratorium) is a means to enhance outreach and exchange with the public at large. It may also provide important non-scientific guidance for the strategic development of the institute and open up for new funding possibilities. For this reason Max Planck Institute for Biology of Ageing has, in collaboration with the neighbouring MPI for Metabolism Research, compiled a list of high-level individuals representing different social stakeholder groups who will support us in our work.

  • Dr. Enno Aufderheide | General Secretary of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation
  • Prof. Axel Freimuth (CHAIR) | Rector of University of Cologne
  • Dr. Henrike Hartmann | Volkswagen Foundation, Head of Funding
  • Prof. Heribert Hirte | Member of the German Bundestag / Parliament
  • Dr. Philip Just Larsen | Senior Vice President, Global Head of research at Bayer Pharmaceuticals
  • Dr. Helge Lubenow | Consultant at AGOS Consulting
  • Dr. Ralf Müller-Schmid | Chief Editor at DRadio Wissen
  • Frau Elfi Scho-Antwerpes | Mayor, City of Cologne (MdB)

 Members of the Scientific Advisory Board

The scientific work of the Institute is evaluated every three years by an international panel of independent experts, forming the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB). 

  • Prof. Vera Gorbunova - University of Rochester, Department of Biology
    Rochester, NY, USA
  • Prof. Thomas A. Rando - University of California, Los Angeles, Director, UCLA Broad Stem Cell Research Center; Professor, Neurology; Molecular, Cell and Developmental Biology
    Los Angeles, CA, USA
  • Prof. Wolf Reik - Babraham Institute
    Cambirdge, United Kingdom
  • Prof. Marian Walhout - University of Massachusetts Medical School
    Worcester, MA, USA
  • Prof. Eric Shoubridge - McGill University, Department of Neurology and Neurosurgery
    Montreal, Canada
Go to Editor View